The New Idiom of Daily Life

November 29 2008 at 12:51 am Leave a comment

Recently, all my communications classes have started to make me feel really guilty.  Guilty about the fact that I willingly allow myself to become co-opted into buying more things, into this vicious cycle of consumerism that undoubtedly has no end, at least as we know it.  It’s strange because I’ve known for so long that buying things don’t make me happy.  Consumption, or at least impulse buying, only ever gives me a temporary dose of happiness, and after that brief two or three hours I feel the same.

Yet I continue to participate in this horrible, horrible cycle of consumerism that is not only causing me to participate in this system that essentially promises discontent, but also creates a ridiculous amount of waste.  It’s destroying our earth.  And us.  And yet we all continue to do it.

Part of the reason I am discussing this now is because of the recent news that a man got trampled at a Wal-Mart during Black Friday sales.  I think this is a perfect example of consumerism (at its finest?); that people are able to do something so horrible to another human being and not be concerned or show remorse for their role in the accident.  I know that it’s likely that the media sensationalized this, but the fact remains: that people just continued shopping.  That makes me sick.  It really, really makes me sick.

It’s in losing our ability to care for others that we become less human, I think.

Entry filed under: current events and issues, Random. Tags: , , .

Today, or this week WHAT IS THE POINT

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


think fast!

mags: twenty; vancouverite; student; avid reader; list extraordinaire. oui oui to san pellegrino; dessert; sunshine; snowboarding; baking; long road trips; children's laughter. and please, please, please share the love.

twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

calendar

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

